Goodbye to shorts pants

June 29, 2010

Hamhock’s autism often exhibits in rigid behaviors that he gets fixated on, and won’t give up for an extended period of time or without a huge, hours-long/days-long tantrum.

One of those behaviors has to do with clothing.

Most likely it is due to sensory issues, that he finds certain clothing more comfortable or familiar, and just doesn’t want to wear anything else.

When he was 2 1/2, he would wear a size 3T onesie that I had.  All. The. Time.  He looked so silly to others (I have no doubt), although he looked really adorable to me.


Right now he *looooooooooves* and *must* wear only his socks wherever he can.  Socks only.  No shoes.  (Except when forced to like in church or at school).  Needless to say, I go through a lot of packages as he wears them out with big holes – on a daily basis.

A few months ago he found an old pair of Superboy’s size 3T sweatpants.  Hamhock is 6 1/2, and wears size 7 pants.  He’s definitely taller than most kids his age.  Wearing a size 3T sweatpants.  Yeah – nice.

He insisted on wearing these affectionately dubbed “shorts pants” as much as he could.  I picked and chose my battles when I needed to enforce ripping them off his legs.  For example, I would let him wear them under his church pants if I didn’t have time or energy to deal with the resulting tantrum.

Finally, one day, I noticed that “shorts pants” just had waaaaaaaaay too many holes in the knees.  It was time to prepare Hamhock to say goodbye to “shorts pants.”

I prepared him for several days letting him know that we needed to say goodbye to “shorts pants.”  He had too many holes and needed to go up to Heaven to live.

Hamhock was down with it.  He decided we needed to burn “shorts pants” in the grill with another shirt and some beloved socks to have some company in Heaven, and Hamhock would see him up there one day.

So, we did it.  “Shorts pants” was ceremoniously burned, after much hugging and kissing and saying “Goodbye shorts pants, you’re a good boy.  Take care of Fiona in Heaven.”

Goodbye “shorts pants,” RIP.

5 Responses to “Goodbye to shorts pants”

  1. Equinox said

    Dear Lady, you and your kids are awesome. Having a ceremony and sending favorite clothing to Heaven! I never would have thought of that. I like how you let your children “say goodbye” to their old, worn out, or out-grown clothing. I find it’s easier for the kids to part with items when they help, and they are much more willing to part with things when they know why they must go or to whom (or where) they are going. So good to know of other mums (dads and teachers not to be left out) who pick their daily/weekly/minute-by-minute battles. (“Why are you letting them do this?” “Because I already fought a battle today and this isn’t it. Today we’re focusing on Strategy B of our battle plan. Back up is appreciated.”) I’m sure your sweet Fiona is doing a lovely job of taking care of things. : )

  2. Juliet said

    Love it!! I’m sorry about the sensory issues and clothing–can’t imagine the tantrum stresses that brings. You’re such a creative, practical mama–all to make her sweet sweet boy happy (and to just survive!). Hugs to the boys.

  3. Charlotte said

    Thank you so much for your blog! I’m so glad I stumbled across it.

    My daughter was recently diagnosed with Asperger’s. I noticed in one post you mentioned Dr. Humpherys, but said if you could afford it, you’d go out of state to Dr. Bock or Dr. Jepson.

    Are you happy with Dr. Humpherys? Do feel like your son (who is beautiful, by the way–so is your blond one) has improved in his care?

    Thanks so much!

    Charlotte

    • gooagoo said

      Hi Charlotte! Nice to “meet” you! I’m sorry about your daughter’s diagnosis, although I’m sure you’re feeling some relief, as I did, to *know* what is going on, so that you can help her as much as you can.

      Dr. Humpherys is super. Very knowledgeable about the DAN! and Generation Rescue approach to biomedical treatment, and he is a very kind and approachable man. I guess my only wish would be that he was an MD in addition to an NMP, like Bock or Jepson.

      I’m glad we used him in addition to our ABA therapy. He helped me fine-tune which vitamin supplements to give, and we did blood and urine work (great to get concrete results), and some mild chelation for heavy metal overload as per the testing.

      I would definitely recommend him if your daughter has some symptoms or you have concerns. He is expensive (of course), and health insurance didn’t cover his visits, but it did cover the prescriptions.

      Let me know! Thank you for your complement about my boys.
      Lisa

  4. Erica said

    So hilarious!! You really are so creative and practical, as Jul said. I’m so glad we’ll get to see you guys all the time now! Kira loves her big boy cousins – definitely very entertaining 🙂

Leave a Reply

